The Tale Of The Outcasts Vol 5

Makoto Hoshino National Geographic Books Comics & Graphic Novels

DESTINIES CONVERGE An ancient demon is confused by the new world he finds after waking up from several hundred years of sleep. Another, more bloodthirsty demon joins hands with an equally bloodthirsty human to watch the chaos unfold. The Sword Cross Knights draw their blades to protect the British Empire from demons. And Wisteria sets off to rescue her brother from captivity. All will meet in the twilight crossroads of London.

ISBN10 : 9781638582052 , ISBN13 : 163858205X

Page Number : 0

The Tale Of The Outcasts Vol 1

Makoto Hoshino National Geographic Books Comics & Graphic Novels

An engrossing new fantasy manga in which a downtrodden orphan girl develops an unexpected friendship with a beastly immortal. This is the story of Wisteria, an orphaned girl lost in darkness, and Marbas, an immortal being who shares her loneliness. The unlikely companions met on a quiet, uneventful night, and they set off together in search of the light. What begins as a chance meeting on the edge of the late nineteenth-century British Empire soon became a full-fledged journey to find their place in the world.

ISBN10 : 9781648271151 , ISBN13 : 1648271154

Page Number : 0

Uki And The Outcasts

Kieran Larwood Faber & Faber Juvenile Fiction

From bestselling author and winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Book Award, Uki and the Outcasts is the first in a new trilogy set in the world of Podkin One-Ear.'EXCELLENT,' says the bard. 'It's probably a good idea for you to know about him.''Wait . . . him? Who's him?' said Rue.'Uki,' says the bard. 'Uki Patchwork. The Magpie Demon. Uki of the Two Furs.'From the Ice Wastes beyond the Cinder Wall emerges an unlikely hero. Rejected by his village and left to die, young Uki is given life and unique powers by a long-buried spirit from the time of the Ancients . . . and a life or death mission.Joined by two other outcasts - a trained assassin who refuses to kill people and a very short rabbit who rides the fastest jerboa on the plains - Uki must capture Valkus, the Spirit of War, before rabbitkind destroys itself in conflict.A thrilling new book set in the Five Realms of Podkin One-Ear.'Storytelling perfection.' Sophie Anderson'One of my sons very favourite authors.' Romesh Ranganathan'Superb.' Max Porter

ISBN10 : 9780571342815 , ISBN13 : 0571342817

Page Number : 251

The Outcasts

Chuck Abdella CreateSpace

The only ones who can fix a broken world are those who have been broken by that world. A shadowy threat has emerged in a realm populated by serious wizards, pious elves, passionate humans, and hedonistic morphs. Several outcasts have been brought together-by fate or by design?-for what they believe to be an epic struggle against that shadowy threat. Yet if they are expecting a straightforward quest to slay some Dark Lord and bring peace to the world, the outcasts are disabused of that notion when a wise voice warns them, "It's not that kind of story." But what kind of story is it? Are these broken beings on an epic quest, or is someone guiding their mission under the aegis of a tired and traditional story? And is this "someone" benevolent or sinister? As the outcasts seek to mend their broken pasts, navigate the perils of love, and perhaps save the known world, we are left to wonder how much of the story is a lie and how much truth has been baked in to make the meal palatable. While "The Outcasts" pays homage to traditional fantasy archetypes, it also seeks to undermine most of them. In a story laced with ancient and medieval scenery, you will find yourself dizzy with the plot twists of this exciting debut fantasy novel. Book I, "The Lies of Autumn" introduces the half-Wizard Marcus and his dear friend Quintus, who find themselves unexpectedly in the company of enslaved Elf siblings Griffin and Gwendolyn, the disgraced Human soldier Octavia, and a Morph named Alexia who possesses abilities which have not been seen in 1,000 years or more. These disparate creatures must navigate love and jealousy, friendship and selfishness, as well as the unspeakable tragedies which haunt each one of their pasts in a quest to save an indifferent world. As Octavia notes, "It sounds like one of those epic tales of old, but it sure doesn't feel like one." Expect fantasy with a twist, as well as equal helpings of romance and action.

ISBN10 : 1514303140 , ISBN13 : 9781514303146

Page Number : 410

Outcasts

Susan M. Papp Dundurn History

In this story of love and loss, Tibor Schroeder, a Christian and reservist in the Hungarian forces allied with Nazi Germany, and Hedy Weisz, a young Jewish woman meet and fall in love during the Second World War - a time when romantic liaisons and marriage between Christians and Jews were not only frowned upon but against the law. Not knowing of the dangers that await them, Tibor and Hedy pledge their lives to each only to be torn apart when Hedy and her family are herded into one Nagyszollos’ ghettoes. Twenty-five years pass before the lovers are finally reunited in Canada. Based on true events, this sprawling love story of hope, courage, and redemption will stay with readers long after finishing the book. A documentary, based on this story, from Postmodern Productions is scheduled for release in March 2009.

ISBN10 : 1770705074 , ISBN13 : 9781770705074

Page Number : 320

The Outcasts Of Time

Ian Mortimer Simon and Schuster Fiction

‘Beautifully written and superbly executed’ Times 'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express 'A joyous romp around England’s dark past' Suzie Feay, Guardian From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: ‘Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection’ Sara Marsden ‘The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read’ Ophelia’s Reads 'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

ISBN10 : 9781471146572 , ISBN13 : 147114657X

Page Number : 400

The Tale Of The Outcasts Vol 8

Makoto Hoshino Seven Seas Entertainment Comics & Graphic Novels

Battle follows battle, revealing old memories. What kind of future do Marbas and Wisteria find after meeting new friends and leaving old ones behind? "Meeting you helped me learn about the world." "Meeting you changed my world." The tale of a demon and a human girl that began in a small corner of London reaches its epic conclusion!

ISBN10 : 9798891603356 , ISBN13 :

Page Number : 196