Story Of A Girl National Book Award Finalist

Sara Zarr Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Young Adult Fiction

Now a movie on Lifetime! I was thirteen when my dad caught me with Tommy Webber in the back of Tommy's Buick, parked next to the old Chart House down in Montara at eleven o'clock on a Tuesday night. Tommy was seventeen and the supposed friend of my brother, Darren. I didn't love him. I'm not sure I even liked him. In a moment, Deanna Lambert's teenage life is changed forever. Struggling to overcome the lasting repercussions and the stifling role of "school slut," Deanna longs to escape a life defined by her past. With subtle grace, complicated wisdom, and striking emotion, Story of a Girl reminds us of our human capacity for resilience, epiphany, and redemption.

ISBN10 : 9780316029179 , ISBN13 : 0316029173

Page Number : 222

Girl A

Abigail Dean Penguin Fiction

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “Pitch-perfect... Dean tells this story with such nuance and humanity, you’re desperate to step into its pages." —The New York Times “Heart-stopping psychological drama… A modern-day classic." —Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author “A gripping story about family dynamics and the nature of human psychology.” —Good Housekeeping She thought she had escaped her past. But there are some things you can’t outrun. Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't want to think about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It's been easy enough to avoid her parents--her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can't run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the home into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings--and with the childhood they shared. What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships--about the secrets our siblings keep, from themselves and each other. Who have each of these siblings become? How do their memories defy or galvanize Lex's own? As Lex pins each sibling down to agree to her family's final act, she discovers how potent the spell of their shared family mythology is, and who among them remains in its thrall and who has truly broken free. For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, an absorbing and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity–but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life.

ISBN10 : 9780593295847 , ISBN13 : 0593295846

Page Number : 353

Are You A Boy Or Are You A Girl

Sarah Savage Jessica Kingsley Publishers Juvenile Nonfiction

Tiny loves costumes! Tiny likes to dress up as an animal, or a doctor, or a butterfly. Tiny also prefers not to tell other children whether they are a boy or a girl. Tiny's friends don't mind, but when Tiny starts a new school their new friends can't help asking one question: "Tiny, are you a boy or are you a girl?" This brightly illustrated book will open a dialogue with children aged 3+ about gender diversity in a fun and creative way. Featuring a gender neutral protagonist, the book imparts an important message about identity and being who you want to be. Tiny's story will assist parents, family and teachers in giving children the space to express themselves fully, explore different identities and have fun at the same time.

ISBN10 : 9781784505561 , ISBN13 : 1784505560

Page Number : 32

I Kissed A Girl

Jennet Alexander Sourcebooks, Inc. Fiction

Can an up-and-coming horror actress and the makeup artist for her newest "creature feature" turn on-set chemistry into the romance of a lifetime? Lilah Silver's a young actress who dreams of climbing out of B-list stardom. She's been cast as the lead in what could be her breakout performance...but if she wants to prove herself to everyone who ever doubted her, she's going to need major help along the way. Noa Birnbaum may be a brilliant makeup artist and special effects whiz-kid, but cracking into the union is more difficult than she imagined. Keeping everyone happy is a full-time job, and she's already run ragged. And yet when the beautiful star she's been secretly crushing on admits to fears of her own, Noa vows to do everything in her power to help Lilah shine like never before. Long hours? Exhausting work? No problem. Together they can take the world by storm...but can the connection forged over long hours in the makeup chair ever hope to survive the glare of the spotlight?

ISBN10 : 9781728222714 , ISBN13 : 1728222710

Page Number : 272

Fight Like A Girl

Lisa Bevere Hachette UK Religion

Today's twisted pictures of gender roles create confusion over how a woman should define herself. Women and men are encouraged to move closer to center and away from the traits that distinguish male from female. How can women feel good about themselves when society is constantly dictating what they can and should be? In FIGHT LIKE A GIRL, Lisa Bevere exhorts us to embrace the differences between sexes. Her goal is to encourage women to celebrate the unique aspects of femininity. Instead of trying to adopt ill-fitting character traits, women should see themselves as designed and valued by God and savor their femininity as their strength, not a flaw.

ISBN10 : 9780446537308 , ISBN13 : 0446537306

Page Number : 188

A Girl Like That

Tanaz Bhathena Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) Young Adult Fiction

Fascinating and disturbing.” —Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Small Great Things and Leaving Time A timeless exploration of high-stakes romance, self-discovery, and the lengths we go to love and be loved. Sixteen-year-old Zarin Wadia is many things: a bright and vivacious student, an orphan, a risk taker. She’s also the kind of girl that parents warn their kids to stay away from: a troublemaker whose many romances are the subject of endless gossip at school. You don't want to get involved with a girl like that, they say. So how is it that eighteen-year-old Porus Dumasia has only ever had eyes for her? And how did Zarin and Porus end up dead in a car together, crashed on the side of a highway in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia? When the religious police arrive on the scene, everything everyone thought they knew about Zarin is questioned. And as her story is pieced together, told through multiple perspectives, it becomes clear that she was far more than just a girl like that. This beautifully written debut novel from Tanaz Bhathena reveals a rich and wonderful new world to readers; tackles complicated issues of race, identity, class, and religion; and paints a portrait of teenage ambition, angst, and alienation that feels both inventive and universal.

ISBN10 : 9780374305451 , ISBN13 : 0374305455

Page Number : 304

A Girl And A River

Usha K. R. Penguin Books India Fiction

I Cannot Undo What They Have Made Of Me. I Cannot Go Back And Smoothen Out The Wrinkled Brow Of My Childhood . . . There Are Things I Must Settle, Gaps I Must Fill. Both For Their Sake And Mine. It Is The 1930S And The Fire Of The Freedom Movement From Distant Bengal And Delhi Is Warming The Languid Bones Of The Small Town In Mysore, Where Kaveri And Setu Grow Up. Theirs Is A Liberal, Prosperous Household And The Family Takes Its Privileges For Granted. Mylaraiah, Their Father, Believes That They Are Twice Protected From Such Delusions As Swaraj Once By The British And Then By The Maharaja. While Setu Absorbs Their Father S Unquestioning Veneration Of The British, Kaveri, Profoundly Affected By Mahatma Gandhi S Visit To Their Town, Comes To Recognize Their Attempts To Be More English Than The English As Rather Shameful. In An Attempt To Follow Her Heart And Take Charge Of Her Own Future, Kaveri Defies Her Father And Participates In The Quit India March Organized By Shyam, The Hot-Headed Revolutionary She Is Attracted To. Angered And Jealous, And Loyal To His Father, Setu Is Forced Into Betraying His Sister. The Small Town Is Shaken Into Life Quite Brutally When It Faces A Police Firing For The First Time In Its History. But Kaveri Is Safe And Home, Or So Setu Thinks . . . Fifty Years Later, Setu S Daughter Tries To Unravel The Circumstances Of Her Uneasy Upbringing, Of The Grit-In-The-Eye Feeling To Her Childhood; Understand Her Cold Father, Her Self-Effacing Mother And Their Refusal To Talk About Their Past. Two Books And A Letter Found In A Tea Tin In The Attic Lead Her To Kaveri And It Is Kaveri, Whose Fate Remains Shrouded In Mystery, Who Has The Answer To Her Questions. But Even With All The Pieces Of The Jigsaw In Hand, The Picture Eludes Her. She Is Forced To Come To Terms With The Insidiousness Of Family Bonds As She Realizes That The Truth, If It At All Exists, Is Made Of Elisions And Imperfections.

ISBN10 : 0143101234 , ISBN13 : 9780143101239

Page Number : 340

Songs About A Girl

Chris Russell Hachette UK Young Adult Fiction

Heartbreak, romance, fame and pop music - for anyone who's ever dreamed of saying 'I'm with the band'. From a Zoella Book Club friend. Charlie Bloom never wanted to be 'with the band'. She's happiest out of the spotlight, behind her camera, unseen and unnoticed. But when she's asked to take backstage photos for hot new boy band, Fire&Lights, she can't pass up the chance. Catapulted into a world of paparazzi and backstage bickering, Charlie soon becomes caught between gorgeous but damaged frontman Gabriel West and his boy-next-door bandmate, Olly Samson. Then, as the boys' rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles upon a mindblowing secret, hidden in the lyrics of their songs ... 'A thoroughly absorbing tale of family relationships, friendship and betrayal. Fans of Non Pratt will love it' - School Librarian 'The ending was a fantastic cliff-hanger and definitely has me eager for more - WHEN WILL THE SEQUEL BE IN MY LIFE?' - Queen of Teen Fiction 'Songs About a Girl is more than music, its about growing up, dealing with issues that others face every day, its about becoming a stronger person for yourself and never giving up on your dream. It's a book that you can fall into and never want it to end, and I really need the next installment now please' - Much Loved Books

ISBN10 : 9781444929164 , ISBN13 : 144492916X

Page Number : 496

How To Build A Girl

Caitlin Moran Random House Fiction

Soon to be a major film directed by Coky Giedroyc and starring Ladybird's Beanie Feldstein as Johanna Morrigan and Game of Thrones's Alfie Allen as John Kite My name’s Johanna Morrigan. I’m fourteen, and I’ve just decided to kill myself. I don’t really want to die, of course! I just need to kill Johanna, and build a new girl. Dolly Wilde will be everything I want to be, and more! But as with all the best coming-of-age stories, it doesn’t exactly go to plan... A Number One Sunday Times bestseller in hardback and paperback, from the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of How to Be a Woman.

ISBN10 : 9781448118519 , ISBN13 : 1448118514

Page Number : 368